The emergence of the current some 80-odd ISKCON 'Gurus' came about due to a two-part process. First the '11 zonal acaryas' appointed themselves as Gurus in 1978. Then in 1986, a new system was evolved whereby any Srila Prabhupada disciple could become a Guru provided they received a majority vote from the GBC. This then led to the creation of dozens more Gurus over the years. What is forgotten is that there is an elite group which does not fall into either of these categories. In 1982, a new system was made up whereby any GBC member could also be made a Guru providing they got the votes of at least 3/4 of the GBC. This one-off system was especially created to accommodate one person, Gopal Krishna Maharaja, who inisted that some 'Indian' Gurus also be made.

The appropriate GBC resolutions are given below:


That all GBC be nominated as candidates to become initiating Gurus with the requirement that they receive the blessings of 3/4 (three fourths) of the GBC members present to begin their initiating role. There after the individual GBC men who are initiating will be responsible for recommending new candidates for initiating Guru from the godbrothers within their zone. These names must then receive the blessings of 3/4 (three fourths) of the majority of the GBC present at the annual meeting for them to begin their initiating roles. The GBC shall prepare a paper elaborating this proposal

The following GBC members will take on the responsibilities of initiating Guru :
1. His Holiness Pancadravida Swami.
2. His Holiness Bhakti Swarup Damodar Swami.
3. His Holiness Gopal Krsna Goswami.

(1982, February 27th, GBC Resolutions 1 & 2)

Please note that apart from the 3 individuals mentioned, no other Gurus were ever made under this system.

Thus Gopal Krsna Maharaja is one of only 3 individuals who became a Guru by receiving a majority of his votes from the then current 11 'zonal acaryas'.